Screenshot Tool Comparisons
These pages compare App Store and Google Play screenshot tools on price, free plan, watermark, devices, localization and upload, using facts from each tool’s own site as of October 2026. We make AppShotEditor, so every page also says when another tool is the better pick.
Best-of lists
- Best Free App Store Screenshot Generators (2026) Free App Store screenshot generators compared on what the free plan really includes: export limits, watermarks, devices and projects, as of October 2026.
- Best App Store Screenshot Generators (2026) App Store screenshot generators compared: web editors, Mac apps and AI builders, with prices, free plans, localization and upload, as of October 2026.
- Best Google Play Screenshot Generators (2026) Google Play screenshot generators compared on 9:16 export, feature graphics, free plans and pricing as of October 2026, plus the 2:1 rule they must respect.
- Best Device Mockup Generators (2026) Device mockup generators compared: 2D frames, 3D renders and animation, Mac apps and template marketplaces, with free plans and pricing as of October 2026.
Head-to-head
- AppScreens vs AppLaunchpad
- Screenhance vs AppScreens
- AppScreens vs Screenshots Pro
- AppScreens vs Appure
- AppLaunchFlow vs AppScreens
- AppScreenStudio vs AppScreens
- ButterKit vs Picasso
- Previewed vs Rotato
- Placeit vs Canva
- MockUPhone vs Shotsnapp
- Screenhance vs AppLaunchFlow
- AppScreenshotStudio vs AppScreenStudio
Screenshot generators: alternatives
| Tool | Free plan | Paid plans (October 2026) |
|---|---|---|
| AppScreens alternative | 1 saved project, 1 app, up to 5 screens, no localizations | Pro $99/yr ($8.25/mo billed yearly), Scale $180/yr |
| AppLaunchpad alternative | Not stated on their site | Not stated on their site |
| Screenshots Pro alternative | Basic: all devices, templates and editor features, smart export | Standard $19/mo, Extended $49/mo (yearly saves 35%) |
| AppMockUp Studio alternative | Free, no account required | Not stated (described as free) |
| Screenhance alternative | 3 exports a month, PNG at 1x | Launch Pass $6 one-time; Pro $12/mo or $99/yr; Teams $24/mo or $199/yr |
| AppScreenStudio alternative | Essential: 1 export a day, up to 2 projects | Pro $10 for one month (one-time); yearly option |
| AppScreenshotStudio alternative | No free plan; 14-day trial | Starter $4.99/mo, Growth $9.99/mo, Pro $19.99/mo (yearly saves 50%) |
| Appure alternative | 1 app, 3 localizations, 1 custom font | Plus $9/mo |
Mockup tools: alternatives
| Tool | Free plan | Paid plans (October 2026) |
|---|---|---|
| Shotsnapp alternative | Basic: one object per canvas, free templates, PNG/JPEG | Pro $48 for one year (“Pay once. No subscriptions.”) |
| Previewed alternative | Lite: unlimited 2D exports at 720p, CC attribution licence | Plus $9.99 one-time; Pro $19/mo ($228/yr) |
| MockUPhone alternative | Free | Free (no paid tier mentioned) |
| Rotato alternative | Unlimited free trial, no card | On its pricing page (not stated on the home page) |
Mac apps: alternatives
| Tool | Free plan | Paid plans (October 2026) |
|---|---|---|
| Picasso alternative | Not stated on their site | Free download with in-app purchases (App Store listing) |
| Framous alternative | Not stated on their site | Set in the Mac App Store (not stated on its site) |
| ButterKit alternative | Free version | One-time purchase or subscription (prices on its pricing page) |
Design tools: alternatives
| Tool | Free plan | Paid plans (October 2026) |
|---|---|---|
| Hotpot.ai alternative | Not stated on their site | Designs are free or $1 per graphic |
| Placeit alternative | Free account (limits not stated) | Unlimited subscription from $7.47/mo |
| Smartmockups alternative | Not stated on their site | Canva plans apply |
| Canva alternative | Free plan with an account | Pro and Business plans (prices vary by region; see canva.com/pricing) |
| BrandBird alternative | Free plan (limits not fully stated) | Pro $15/mo; Lifetime $179 one-time (limited-time deal) |
Launch suites: alternatives
| Tool | Free plan | Paid plans (October 2026) |
|---|---|---|
| AppLaunchFlow alternative | Preview-only exports; full resolution needs a paid plan | Launch Pass €9 one-time (7 days); Unlimited €15/mo or €99/yr |
Open source: alternatives
| Tool | Free plan | Paid plans (October 2026) |
|---|---|---|
| AppScreen (open source) alternative | Everything (open source) | Free, open source |
Store guides
App Store vs Google Play screenshots: how the two stores’ rules differ.
Frequently asked questions
How do you keep these comparisons fair?
Every fact about another product comes from its own website, checked in October 2026 and dated on the page. Each page also says when the other tool is the better pick.
Is AppShotEditor really free?
Yes: the editor, phone frames and single-screen export are free with no watermark and no signup. Paid yearly plans add iPad and Mac frames, premium templates, ZIP export and storage.
Which tool should I use for App Store and Google Play?
Any tool that exports App Store sizes and 9:16 Play sizes works. Start with the best-of lists, then read the head-to-head for the two you are deciding between.