Comparison · facts as of October 2026

ButterKit vs Picasso

Pick ButterKit if you work on a Mac running macOS 26 and want capture-to-upload in one app; pick Picasso if you ship Apple-only apps from a Mac and want upload automation. As of October 2026, ButterKit’s paid plans: One-time purchase or subscription (prices on its pricing page); Picasso’s: Free download with in-app purchases (App Store listing).

We make AppShotEditor. Facts about other products come from their own websites on the date below; “Not stated on their site” means we could not find it there. Spotted something out of date? Tell us on X at @geetfun.

ButterKit vs Picasso, side by side

FeatureButterKitPicassoAppShotEditor
PlatformMac app (macOS 26+)Mac and iOS app (macOS 14 / iOS 17)Web (any modern browser)
Paid plansOne-time purchase or subscription (prices on its pricing page)Free download with in-app purchases (App Store listing)Starter $29/yr, Pro $59/yr, Studio $129/yr
Free planFree versionNot stated on their siteEditor, phone frames and single-screen export; no signup
Watermark on free exportsYes (“Made with ButterKit”) on the free versionNot stated on their siteNone
Device framesEditable 3D device mockups40+ frames incl. Apple Watch, Apple TV, Vision Pro25 frames (iPhone, Pixel free; iPad Starter; Mac Pro)
LocalizationOn-device (18 languages, free); cloud (50 App Store languages, your own API key)Generates languages from an .xcstrings fileNo built-in translation; duplicate a project per language
Upload to App Store Connect / PlayUploads screenshots and metadata to App Store ConnectUploads to App Store Connect per display type and localeNo (export files, then upload)
AI / coding-agent workflowBuilt-in MCP server for Claude Code, Cursor, CodexNot stated on their siteOpen Agent Skill for Claude Code, Codex, Cursor and opencode
Re-edit a finished setNot stated on their siteNot stated on their siteYes: projects keep every layer after export

ButterKit

ButterKit is a native macOS app that captures, designs, translates and publishes App Store screenshots, with 3D device mockups and a built-in MCP server.

  • Capture straight from the Xcode Simulator and upload to App Store Connect.
  • Free on-device translation for 18 languages.

Pick ButterKit if: You work on a Mac running macOS 26 and want capture-to-upload in one app.

Picasso

Picasso (Picasso App Screenshot Studio) is a Mac and iOS app that frames simulator captures and uploads screenshots to App Store Connect.

  • Direct App Store Connect upload, in order, per display type and locale.
  • Frames for Apple Watch, Apple TV and Vision Pro.

Pick Picasso if: You ship Apple-only apps from a Mac and want upload automation.

A third option: AppShotEditor

If neither fits, AppShotEditor is a free browser editor with no watermark, 25 frames (iphone, pixel free; ipad starter; mac pro), and an open Agent Skill that drafts the set from your codebase. It does not translate or upload for you.

Open the free editor

Frequently asked questions

What do ButterKit and Picasso cost?

ButterKit: One-time purchase or subscription (prices on its pricing page). Picasso: Free download with in-app purchases (App Store listing). Checked October 2026; prices change, so confirm on their sites.

Which has a free plan, ButterKit or Picasso?

ButterKit: Free version. Picasso: Not stated on their site.

Do ButterKit and Picasso support localization?

ButterKit: On-device (18 languages, free); cloud (50 App Store languages, your own API key). Picasso: Generates languages from an .xcstrings file.

Is there a free alternative to both?

AppShotEditor: editor, phone frames and single-screen export; no signup, with no watermark. It has no built-in translation, so it suits teams that ship one or a few languages.